Parliament building.

Queen’s Alumni Elected to Parliament

Queen’s University will be well represented by alumni in the 44th Parliament of Canada. As determined by the Sept. 20 election, alumni were elected in 12 ridings representing all major political parties, and with backgrounds in numerous faculties.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau called the federal election on Aug. 15 and was granted a minority government. The following Queen’s alumni will be among the Members of Parliament:

Bloc Québécois

  • *Jean-Denis Garon, PHD’13 (ECON) - Mirabel


  • Marilyn Gladu, BSC’84 (ENCH) - Sarnia-Lambton
  • John Nater, MPA’08 (School of Policy Studies) - Perth-Wellington


  • Anita Anand, BA’89 (POLS) - Oakville
  • Chris Bittle, BA’02 (POLS) - St. Catharines
  • Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, BA’07 (POLS), JD’10 - Beaches-East York
  • Peter Fragiskatos, MA’05 (POLS), MA’05 - London North Centre
  • Mark Gerretsen, BA’06 (ECON) - Kingston and the Islands
  • Steven MacKinnon, MBA’98 - Gatineau
  • John McKay, LLB’73 - Scarborough-Guildwood
  • Randeep Sarai, LLB’01 - Surrey Centre


  • Lindsay Mathyssen, BA’01 (ENGL) - London-Fanshawe

*Indicates first time elected as Member of Parliament.