Queen’s National Scholar Advisory Committee

Terms of Reference

The Queen's National Scholar Advisory Committee is responsible for reviewing all submitted Queen's National Scholar (QNS) proposals and making recommendations to the principal as to which candidates should be offered QNS appointments. Throughout this process, the committee is responsible for ensuring that those appointed under the QNS program have clearly demonstrated their ability to provide rich and rewarding learning experiences to students as well as to develop innovative research programs that align with the university’s priorities.

Recruitment Process

Queen’s National Scholar Advisory Committee 2020-2021

Name Title
Heather Aldersey Faculty member, Queen's National Scholar
School of Rehabilitation Therapy
Alana Butler Faculty member, Assistant Professor of At-Risk Learners and Student Success
Faculty of Education
Yolande Chan Faculty member, Queen's National Scholar
Smith School of Business
Lisa Guenther Faculty member, Queen's National Scholar
Department of Philosophy
Awet Weldemichael Faculty member, Queen’s National Scholar
Department of History 
Kimberly Woodhouse (Co-Chair) Vice-Principal Research
Teri Shearer (Co-Chair) Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion) 
Fahim Quadir Vice-Provost and Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs
John Pierce Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning
Stephanie Simpson Associate Vice-Principal (Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion)
Justine Aman President, SGPS
Jared den Otter AMS representative

Secretary: Amanda LaRose, University Faculty Staffing Coordinator, Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)