Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Institutional Grant (SIG)

This funding opportunity is offered through the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC). 

These annual grants allow Queen’s University to fund small-scale research and research-related activities by our faculty in social sciences and humanities.

These funds are awarded through our own merit review processes and are intended to help Queen’s strengthen research excellence.

Funding is available for grants to a maximum of $7,000 (one-year grant). Funding can be requested under one of the following two granting programs:

  • SSHRC Explore Grants:
    • Supporting researchers at any career stage to allow for small-scale project development or pilot work;
    • Fund student participation in projects
  • SSHRC Exchange Grants: 
    • Encourage collaboration and dissemination of research results both within and beyond the academic community through small-scale knowledge mobilization;
    • Allow researchers to attend or present at conferences to advance their careers and promote the exchange of ideas

Applications Deadlines:

February 15, 2023
June 15, 2023
February 15, 2024

SIG Application Form

View SIG Application Form

SIG Guidelines

View SIG Guidelines