Agnes Benidickson Award (Ottawa Branch)

Branch Award

The Agnes Benidickson Award is the highest tribute given by the Ottawa Branch of the Queen's University Alumni Association. It is presented to an individual for distinguished service to the University and Canada. 

In presenting this award, the Ottawa Branch pays tribute to the late Agnes Benidickson, a champion of Queen's University and the Ottawa Branch. Over the years in her many roles as a student, as a trustee, as Chancellor, and as the Ottawa Branch Honorary President, Agnes devoted her considerable abilities to the great Queen's family.

Daughter, niece, and aunt of Queen's graduates, Agnes was raised in Winnipeg. Following her marriage, she went to Ottawa, where her spirited community service was legendary. The Ottawa Branch has been a major beneficiary of the Agnes spirit. As a long time member of the Branch Executive, Agnes fostered and supported many Queen's activities. It was therefore fitting that in 1990, the Ottawa Branch paid tribute to its prominent supporter by naming this award in honour of her, Queen's tenth Chancellor.

2020 - Wayne Garnons-Williams, Law'90

The Ottawa Branch presents the 2020 Agnes Benidickson Award to Wayne Garnons-Williams, Law'90, for his ongoing commitment to Aboriginal relations in Canada, and his ongoing commitment to Queen's, providing his expertise on international trade and Indigenous issues.

2018 - Kathleen Macmillan, Artsci'78

The Ottawa Branch presented the 2018 Agnes Benidickson Award to Kathleen Macmillan, Artsci’78, for her commitment to Queen’s, her leadership in volunteerism and philanthropy, and her contributions to Canadian trade policy.

2016 - Hugh Winsor, Arts'64

The award was presented for his contributions to Canada’s political landscape as a national journalist, his commitment to protecting and expanding freedom of the press, and his ongoing dedication to, and mentorship of, Queen’s students.

2014 - Jeffrey Simpson, Arts’71, LLD’05

2011 - The Honourable Flora MacDonald, LLD'81, C.C., P.C. (deceased)

2009 - David Dodge, Arts'65, LLD'02

2007 - George Toller, BA'49 (deceased)

2005 - Jake Warren, BA'41, LLD'74 (deceased)

2003 - Andrew Pipe, Arts'70, Meds'74, LLD'01

2001 - Kent Plumley, BSc(Eng)'60, LLB'63 (deceased)

1999 - Peter Milliken, Arts'68, LLD'12

1996 - Alfred Bader, BSc'45, BA'46, MSc(Eng)'47, LLD'86, (deceased) and Isabel Bader, LLD'07

1993 - John Meisel, LLD'96

1992 - John Matheson, BA'40, LLD'84 (deceased)

1991 - David C. Smith, LLD'94 (deceased) and Agnes Benidickson, BA'41, LLD'79 (deceased)