Join in celebration on tricolour background

University Distinguished Service Award Reception

Virtual event

Chancellor Murray Sinclair and Principal and Vice-Chancellor Patrick Deane invite you to a virtual reception honouring the 2020 and 2021 Distinguished Service Award Recipients.

2021 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Thomas Courchene

Professor Emeritus, inaugural Director of the School of Policy Studies and Stauffer-Dunning Chair in Policy Studies, Officer of the Order of Canada, outstanding professor, influential academic, and prolific, award-winning author who has cemented Queen’s presence in public policy.

Patty McHenry

Dedicated staff member since 1987, Principal Gifts Officer in the Office of Advancement, fostered relationships that have advanced Queen's with transformational gifts, trusted advisor and partner of Queen’s leaders, renowned for her personal and caring stewardship of the university community.

Helen Connop

Manager, Education and Equity Services (School of Law), committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion, impacted the lives of thousands of law students over close to two decades through tireless advocacy and unwavering support.

Anthony Sanfilippo

Associate Dean (Undergraduate Medical Education), exemplary medical educator, practicing cardiologist, and leader, instrumental in the creation of innovative programs and curricula that have contributed to the success of Queen’s School of Medicine. 

Sue Fostaty-Young

Queen’s alumna, Director of the Centre for Teaching and Learning, spearheaded numerous initiatives to improve the quality of teaching and learning, whose efforts have fostered connection, innovation, and enhanced student outcomes.

Lucinda Walls

Public Services Librarian, expert in art and music reference materials, educator on information literacy and invaluable resource to students and faculty within Art History, Fine Arts, Music, and Drama, with profound impact across the Queen’s community.

2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Selim G. Akl

Dedicated faculty member since 1978, current Professor, nationally recognized computer science researcher and scholar, and tireless champion for the School of Computing.

Jan Allen

Queen’s alumna, Director of the Agnes Etherington Art Centre, augmented the Centre’s exhibitions, publications and acquisitions while promoting collaborative curatorial and research work, nationally recognized curator and arts leader.

Jacquie Brown

Long-serving Program Assistant (Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering), committed to compassionate and tailored student support, safety on campus and continuous training resulting in widespread positive impact on the lives of students, faculty, and staff.

Jennifer Medves

Former Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director of the School of Nursing, former Vice-Chair of Senate and exemplary participant in University governance, devoted to student mental health, innovative programming, and the profession of nursing.

Richard Reznick

Former Dean (Faculty of Health Sciences), Director (School of Medicine), and CEO (Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization), pioneer of innovative educational programs, internationally renowned medical education expert, and leader of transformative change.

Daniel R. Woolf

20th Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Principal Emeritus, Queen’s alumnus, Professor of History, influential academic and administrator, introduced the University’s new budget model, governance reform, and position of Provost, committed to innovation, faculty renewal, wellness, and the arts.

Event Details

RSVP date