Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching

Graduating undergraduate students: Did you have an educator in high school who really helped you find your path to Queen's?

The Baillie Award for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching was established by Chancellor Emeritus A. Charles Baillie.

These awards give undergraduate students in their graduating year from Queen’s University the opportunity to honour educators in Canada who, during the student’s high school career, had a decisive and formative influence on the student, and set them on the course to post-secondary education and ultimately to their graduation from Queen's.

These awards recognize an exceptional high school educator who has served as a role model and mentor to their students, instilled a love of learning, and inspired academic excellence and the pursuit of higher education. Up to five awards will be given annually.

Educator-recipients will each receive $10,000 and are recognized at convocation in the printed program.

Nominations for the 2022 Student Recognition Awards are now closed. Thank you to all our nominators!

Recipients are chosen by a selection committee coordinated by the Office of the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs. Nominators with successful nominations are notified by email.

Please note that you must be graduating from your first undergraduate degree. If you have any questions about the awards or the nomination process, please email  

Past recipients

2022 recipients

2021 recipients

2020 recipients

2019 recipients 

2018 recipients

2017 recipients

2016 recipients

2015 recipients

2014 recipients 

2013 recipients

2012 recipients

2006-2012 recipients