Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Regular Faculty


Alan Ableson

Alan Ableson

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 505
Phone: (613) 533-2414
Email:  ableson@queensu.ca
Research: Teaching, bioinformatics, applied mathematics & computational models, applied statistics


Fady Alajaji

Fady Alajaji

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 402
Phone: (613) 533-2423
Email:  fa@queensu.ca
Research:  Information & communication theory, data compression, joint source-channel coding, applied probability


Thomas Barthelmé

Thomas Barthelmé

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 504
Phone: (613) 533-6640
Email:  thomas.barthelme@queensu.ca
Research:  Hyperbolic dynamical systems, finsler & riemannian geometry, flows in 3-manifold, ergodic geometry


Oleg I. Bogoyavlenskij

Oleg I. Bogoyavlenskij

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 515
Phone: (613) 533-2409
Email:  oib@queensu.ca
Research:  Symmetries, invariants, integrability, fluid & gas dynamics, magnetohydrody-namics, topological methods


Francesco Cellarosi

Francesco Cellarosi

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 506
Phone: (613) 533-2388
Email:  fc19@queensu.ca
Research:  Ergodic theory, homogeneous dynamics, theta sums, random processes of number-theoretical origin, quantum mechanics


Troy Day

Troy Day

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 409
Phone: (613) 533-2431
Email:  day@queensu.ca
Research:  Biomathematics, dynamical systems, game theory, optimization


Ivan Dimitrov

Ivan Dimitrov

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 508
Phone: (613) 533-2388
Email:  dimitrov@queensu.ca
Research:  Representation theory, lie algebras & lie superalgebras


Bahman Gharesifard

Bahman Gharesifard

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 403
Phone: (613) 533-2441
Email:  gharesb@queensu.ca
Research:  Systems & control, distributed control & optimization, geometric control theory, game theory, nonsmooth analysis, geometric mechanics


Wenyu Jiang

Wenyu Jiang

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 412
Phone: (613) 533-2398
Email:  wenyu.jiang@queensu.ca
Research:  Biostatistics, biomarker study, lifetime data analysis, design & analysis of clinical trials, computational methods


Ernst Kani

Ernst Kani

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 211
Phone: (613) 533-2435
Email:  kani@queensu.ca
Research:  Diophantine geometry, algebraic geometry, number theory, cryptography, modular forms


Boris Levit

Boris Levit

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 511
Phone: (613) 533-2439
Email:  blevit@queensu.ca
Research:  Optimal design in non-parametric regression


Andrew Lewis

Andrew D. Lewis

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 420
Phone: (613) 533-2395
Email:  andrew.lewis@queensu.ca
Research:  Global analysis, geometric control theory, geometric mechanics


Ping Li

Ping Li

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 413
Phone: (613) 533-2406
Email:  pingli@queensu.ca
Research:  Commutative algebra, algebraic geometry, algebraic & differential topology, math finance


Chunfang Devon Lin

Chunfang Devon Lin

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 406
Phone: (613) 533-2412
Email:  devon.lin@queensu.ca
Research:  Computer experiment, experimental design, industrial statistics, point process, uncertainty quantification


Tamas Linder

Tamás Linder

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 401
Phone: (613) 533-2417
Email:  tamas.linder@queensu.ca
Research:  Information & communication theory, data compression, source & channel coding, quantization, machine learning


Felicia Magpantay

Felicia Magpantay

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 410
Phone: (613) 533-2402
Email:  felicia.magpantay@queensu.ca
Research:  Delay differential equations, mathematical modeling, numerical analysis, applied probability


Abdol-Reza Mansouri

Abdol-Reza Mansouri

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 416
Phone: (613) 533-2419
Email:  mansouri@queensu.ca
Research:  Sub-Riemannian geometry, stochastic analysis & Malliavin calculus, geometric control theory, mathematical problems in image processing


Giusy Mazzone

Giusy Mazzone

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 405
Phone: (613) 533-6299
Email:  giusy.mazzone@queensu.ca
Research:  Applied mathematics, partial differential equations, fluid dynamics, fluid-solid interactions, mathematical physics


James Mingo

James A. Mingo

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 312
Phone: (613) 533-2444
Email:  james.mingo@queensu.ca
Research:  Free probability, random matrices, operator algebras


Charles Molson

Charles Molson

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 206
Phone: (613) 533-2416
Email:  charles.molson@queensu.ca
Research:  Teaching, introductory statistics


Ram Murty

M. Ram Murty

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 315
Phone: (613) 533-2413
Email:  murty@queensu.ca
Research:  Number theory, zeta functions, sieves


Dan Offin

Dan Offin

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 408
Phone: (613) 533-2407
Email:  offind@queensu.ca
Research:  Dynamical systems, hamiltonian & celestial mechanics, symplectic geometry, variational methods on manifolds


Catherine Pfaff

Catherine Pfaff

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 519
Phone: (613) 533-2392
Email:  c.pfaff@queensu.ca
Research:  Geometric group theory, topology, symbolic dynamics


Brad Rodgers

Brad Rodgers

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 510
Phone: (613) 533-2401
Email:  brad.rodgers@queensu.ca
Research: Analytic number theory, random matrices


Mike Roth

Mike Roth

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 507
Phone: (613) 533-2410
Email:  mike.roth@queensu.ca
Research:  Algebraic geometry, representation theory, diophantine geometry


Greg Smith

Gregory G. Smith

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 512
Phone: (613) 533-2438
Email:  ggs@queensu.ca
Research:  Algebraic geometry, commutative algebra, symbolic computation


Yanglei Song

Yanglei Song

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 419
Phone: (613) 533-2425
Email:  yanglei.song@queensu.ca
Research:  Sequential decision making, change point detection, distribution approximation


Glen Takahara

Glen Takahara

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 407
Phone: (613) 533-2430
Email:  takahara@queensu.ca
Research:  Queueing & communication networks, bayesian mixture models, statistical learning, orientation data


Peter Taylor

Peter Taylor

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 513
Phone: (613) 533-2434
Email:  peter.taylor@queensu.ca
Research:  Evolutionary game theory, secondary school curriculum


Noriko Yui

Noriko Yui

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 417
Phone: (613) 533-2421
Email:  yui@queensu.ca
Research:  Calabi-Yau manifolds: Arithmetic, geometry & physics


Serdar Yuksel

Serdar Yüksel

Office:  Jeffery Hall, Rm. 415
Phone: (613) 533-2429
Email:  yuksel@queensu.ca
Research:  Stochastic control theory, decentralized & networked systems & control, information theory, probability theory & applications