Elections to the University Council

In 1882, an amendment to Queen's Royal Charter declared the University Council duly constituted. It is one of the three governing bodies of the university. The elective members of the Council are elected by and from among the alumni of the university in a manner provided for in the By-laws of the Council.  The Council serves as both an advisory and an ambassadorial body to the university as a whole and is responsible for the election of the Chancellor.

Although it is not directly involved in operations, the Council may bring to the Senate or Board of Trustees any matter, which it believes, affects Queen's well being and prosperity. In this way, the Council, in plenary session and through study committees, has made important contributions to several areas of campus life.

2023 Election - Now Closed

The Call for Nominations for the 2023 University Council was held from March 24 - April 7, 2023. Nominations are now closed. 

Available Positions:

  • Four-year term (Sept. 1, 2023 to Aug. 31, 2027), 10 positions

Nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form by  Friday, April 7, 2023 at 4 pm EST. Nominations are now closed. 

The election of ten (10) alumni to the Queen's University Council was held from May 16 - 30, 2023. Alumni were alerted to this election via email. To ensure you will receive communications about this election, please update your contact information and confirm your communication preferences by contacting the Alumni Relations Office by email: records@queensu.ca or by phone: 1-800-267-7837. Questions about the election process can be directed to ucouncil@queensu.ca.

2023 Successful Candidates

The following alumni were elected to the University Council for a four-year term, beginning September 1, 2023. 

  • Tazrian Alam, BAH’13
  • Doug Bruce, BSc(Eng)'85
  • Safiah Chowdhury, BA(H)'11
  • Mary Drinkwater, BA/BPHE ’77; B.Ed. ’78; MPA ’08
  • Letitia Golubitsky, MSc'06
  • Colby Pereira, BAH'13, MA'15
  • David Pick, Arts '89, Law '92
  • Patricia Romans, BSc (Hons.)'70
  • Yanique Williams, BAH'08
  • Marcus Wong, BAH’03

Important Information