University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

University Secretariat and Legal Counsel
University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

Distinguished Service Awards

Queen’s faculty, staff, students, retirees, members (elected, appointed, ex officio or honorary) of the Council, the Queen's Alumni Association,and the Board of Trustees are invited to nominate candidates for a Queen’s Distinguished Service Award. Inaugurated by the University Council in 1974, this award recognizes individuals who have made the University a better place through their extraordinary contributions. 

Nomination Form 

To submit a nomination for the 2020 Distinguished Service Awards, click here.

Please contact the University Secretariat at or 613-533-6095 if you have questions about the Distinguished Service Award or the nomination process.  

Congratulations to the 2019 Distinguished Service Award winners: Susan Blake, Yolande Chan, Merv Daub, Tom Harris, Janean Sergeant, and Chris Tabor! Recipients were presented with their awards at a ceremony at the Agnes Etherington Art Centre on Friday, November 1st, 2019. 

Photo of 2019 DSA Recipients

2019 Distinguished Service Award Recipients (L-R: Principal Patrick Deane, Tom Harris, Yolande Chan, Merv Daub, Jill Atkinson (accepting the award on behalf of Susan Blake), Chris Tabor, Janean Sergeant, Chancellor Jim Leech) Photo by: Bernard Clark

"Six recognized with Distinguished Service Award" (Queen's Gazette, November 4, 2019)