University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

site header

Council of Ontario Universities

The Principal and the Academic Colleague are members of the Council of Ontario Universities (COU). They represent Queen’s at meetings of the Council, the executive body made up of two representatives of each of the member institutions. The Council meets twice during the academic year. Its objectives are to promote cooperation among the provincially assisted university of Ontario, and between them and the provincial government, and to work for the improvement of higher education for the people of Ontario.

The Academic Colleague

The Academic Colleague is appointed by the Senate on the recommendation of the Nominating Committee. The Academic Colleague normally shall hold office for a term of three years, renewable.  The term runs from July 1 to June 30.

1996 - 2005:  P. Oosthuizen

2005 - 2008:  S. Cole

2008 - 2014:  P. Oosthuizen     Alternate:  L. Colgan 2012-2014

2014 - 2015:  L. Colgan     Alternate:  P. Martin

2015 - 2017:  M. Finlayson     Alternate:  Y. Chan

2017 - 2018: Y. Chan    Alternate: C. Deluca 

2018 - 2019: Y. Chan    Alternate: S. Dickey