Important Dates

Academic Dates, Deadlines and Special Events

  • Monday August 10, 2020 to Wednesday August 26, 2020
    Registration period for Fall and Winter classes
  • Monday August 10, 2020
    Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) end
  • Wednesday August 12, 2020 to Friday August 14, 2020
    Summer Term examinations in July-August /6W2 Session classes
  • Monday August 31, 2020
    Time period to add and drop classes (Open Enrolment period) begins
  • Saturday September 5, 2020
    Welcoming Ceremony for new Students
  • Saturday September 5, 2020
    Residence Move-In Day
  • Monday September 7, 2020
    Labour Day
  • Tuesday September 8, 2020
    Fall term classes begin
  • Monday September 21, 2020
    Students unable to register in Fall Term by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Monday September 21, 2020
    Last date to add Fall Term and multi-term classes
  • Wednesday September 30, 2020
    Residence, UHIP and Student Activity Fees due in full
  • Wednesday September 30, 2020
    Tuition fees due in full for Fall Term classes
  • Monday October 12, 2020
    Thanksgiving Day (University closed. Classes will not be held.)
  • Thursday October 15, 2020
    Last date to apply in SOLUS to graduate for Fall 2020
  • Friday October 16, 2020
    University Day
  • Saturday October 17, 2020 from 9:00am to 4:00pm
    Fall Preview
  • Monday October 26, 2020 to Friday October 30, 2020
    Fall Term Break
  • Sunday November 1, 2020
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for the Winter Term
  • Monday November 2, 2020
    Last date to drop Fall Term classes without academic penalty
  • Monday November 2, 2020
    Last date to drop Fall Term and multi-term classes without financial penalty
  • Saturday November 7, 2020
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the December examination session
  • Saturday November 7, 2020 from 9:00am to 4:00pm
    Fall Preview
  • Wednesday November 11, 2020
    Remembrance Day observance (Classes cancelled 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.)
  • Sunday November 15, 2020
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Winter Term
  • Tuesday December 1, 2020
    First date to apply to graduate in SOLUS for Spring 2021
  • Tuesday December 1, 2020
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to Dual or Second Degree Programs for Winter Term
  • Sunday December 6, 2020
    Commemoration Day (exams will not be held)
  • Monday December 7, 2020
    Fall term classes end
  • Monday December 7, 2020
    BISC Fall Term Classes End
  • Tuesday December 8, 2020 to Thursday December 10, 2020
    Fall Term pre-examination study period
  • Thursday December 10, 2020 to Wednesday December 23, 2020
    Final assessments in Fall Term classes and mid-year tests in multi-term classes
  • Friday January 1, 2021
    New Year's Day (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Sunday January 10, 2021
    Tuition fees due in full for Winter Term classes.
  • Monday January 11, 2021
    Winter Term classes begin
  • Monday January 11, 2021
    BISC Winter Term Classes Begin
  • Friday January 15, 2021
    Last date to apply to the International Programs Office for exchange programs for 2021-2022
  • Friday January 22, 2021
    Last date to add Winter Term classes
  • Friday January 22, 2021
    Last date to drop Winter Term classes without financial penalty
  • Friday January 22, 2021
    Students unable to register in Winter Term by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Monday February 1, 2021
    Registration for Summer Term classes begins
  • Monday February 15, 2021
    Family Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday February 16, 2021 to Friday February 19, 2021
    Mid-term Reading Week (all classes cancelled)
  • Friday February 19, 2021 to Tuesday February 23, 2021
    BISC Mid-term Trip
  • Wednesday February 24, 2021 to Sunday February 28, 2021
    BISC Reading Period
  • Friday March 5, 2021
    Last date to drop Winter Term and multi-term classes without academic penalty
  • Sunday March 7, 2021
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the April examination session
  • Saturday March 20, 2021 from 9:00am to 2:00pm
    March Break Open House
  • Wednesday March 31, 2021
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (May-June Session).
  • Wednesday March 31, 2021
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Summer Term from another post-secondary institution
  • Thursday April 1, 2021
    BISC Winter Term Classes End
  • Thursday April 1, 2021
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for the Summer Term
  • Thursday April 1, 2021
    Last day for Queen's students to apply for a Dual Degree Program for Summer Term
  • Friday April 2, 2021
    Good Friday (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Saturday April 3, 2021 to Wednesday April 14, 2021
    BISC Study/Examination Period
  • Friday April 9, 2021
    Winter Term classes end
  • Saturday April 10, 2021 to Tuesday April 13, 2021
    Winter Term pre-exam study period
  • Wednesday April 14, 2021 to Friday April 30, 2021
    Final examinations in Winter Term and multi-term classes
  • Thursday April 15, 2021
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Summer Term to full- or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure that an admission decision is made before the Term begins
  • Friday April 30, 2021
    Last date to apply to graduate in SOLUS in Spring 2021 (TENTATIVE)
  • Saturday May 1, 2021
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and MayJuly/12W sessions) (Exception: OSAP students)
  • Friday May 7, 2021
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (August Session).
  • Monday May 10, 2021
    BISC Summer Term Classes begin (May-June Session)
  • Monday May 10, 2021
    Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions) begin
  • Thursday May 13, 2021
    Last date to add BISC Summer Term Classes (May-June Session)
  • Friday May 14, 2021
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions)
  • Friday May 14, 2021
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Friday May 14, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1)
  • Friday May 21, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W sessions) without financial penalty
  • Monday May 24, 2021
    Victoria Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday June 1, 2021
    Last date to apply to the University for admission as a part-time student for Fall Term
  • Tuesday June 1, 2021
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree Program for Fall Term
  • Tuesday June 1, 2021
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Fall Term from another post-secondary institution.
  • Tuesday June 1, 2021
    Last date for Queen's students to apply to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 3, 2021
    Last date to drop BISC Summer Classes (May-June session) without academic penalty
  • Friday June 4, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1) without academic penalty
  • Monday June 7, 2021
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the June, July and August examination sessions
  • Tuesday June 15, 2021
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Fall Term to full-or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure that an admission decision is made before the Term begin
  • Thursday June 17, 2021
    BISC Summer Term classes/examinations end (May-June session)
  • Monday June 21, 2021
    Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 Session) end
  • Monday June 21, 2021
    National Indigenous Peoples Day
  • Thursday June 24, 2021 to Saturday June 26, 2021
    Summer Term examinations in May-June/6W1 Session classes (TENTATIVE)
  • Thursday July 1, 2021
    Canada Day (classes will not be held)
  • Thursday July 1, 2021
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session). Exception: OSAP Students
  • Friday July 2, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) without academic penalty
  • Monday July 5, 2021
    Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) begin
  • Friday July 9, 2021
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (July-August /6W2 Session) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Friday July 9, 2021
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session)
  • Friday July 9, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) without financial penalty
  • Monday July 12, 2021 to Friday July 30, 2021
    Registration period for Fall and Winter classes (TENTATIVE)
  • Thursday July 15, 2021
    First date to apply in SOLUS to graduate for Fall 2021
  • Friday July 30, 2021
    Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) end
  • Friday July 30, 2021
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) without academic penalty
  • Saturday July 31, 2021
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Fall Term
  • Sunday August 1, 2021
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for the Fall Term
  • Monday August 2, 2021
    Civic Holiday (Classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday August 3, 2021 to Saturday August 7, 2021
    Summer Term examinations in May-July/12W Session classes
  • Friday August 13, 2021
    Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) end
  • Monday August 16, 2021 to Wednesday August 18, 2021
    Summer Term examinations in July-August /6W2 Session classes (TENTATIVE)
  • Monday August 16, 2021
    BISC Summer Term classes begin (August Session)
  • Tuesday August 24, 2021
    Time period to add and drop classes (Open Enrolment period) begins (TENTATIVE)