Important Dates

Academic Dates, Deadlines and Special Events

  • Thursday December 1, 2022
    Last date for Queen’s students to apply for admission to a Dual or Second Degree Program for Winter Term
  • Thursday December 1, 2022
    First date to apply in SOLUS to graduate in Spring 2023
  • Monday December 5, 2022
    Fall term classes end
  • Tuesday December 6, 2022
    Commemoration Day (assessments cancelled)
  • Tuesday December 6, 2022 to Thursday December 8, 2022
    Fall Term pre-examination study period
  • Thursday December 8, 2022 to Thursday December 22, 2022
    Fall Term examinations
  • Sunday January 1, 2023
    Tuition fees due in full for Winter Term classes
  • Sunday January 1, 2023
    New Year's Day (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Monday January 9, 2023
    Winter Term classes begin
  • Thursday January 12, 2023 to Monday January 16, 2023
    Fall Term Deferred Assessment Period
  • Friday January 13, 2023
    Last date to apply to the International Programs Office for exchange programs
  • Friday January 20, 2023
    Last date to add Winter Term classes
  • Friday January 20, 2023
    Students unable to register in Winter Term by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Academic). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full. Exception: OSAP students
  • Friday January 20, 2023
    Last date to drop Winter Term classes without financial penalty
  • Monday February 6, 2023
    Registration for Summer Term classes begins
  • Monday February 20, 2023
    Family Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday February 21, 2023 to Friday February 24, 2023
    Mid-term Reading Week (all classes cancelled)
  • Friday March 3, 2023
    Last date to drop Winter Term classes without academic penalty
  • Tuesday March 7, 2023
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the April examination session
  • Friday March 31, 2023
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Summer Term from another post-secondary institution
  • Friday March 31, 2023
    Last date to apply for admission to Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (May-June Session)
  • Saturday April 1, 2023
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for Summer Term
  • Saturday April 1, 2023
    Last date for Queen’s students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree Program for Summer Term
  • Friday April 7, 2023
    Good Friday (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Monday April 10, 2023
    Winter Term classes end
  • Tuesday April 11, 2023 to Friday April 14, 2023
    Winter Term pre-examination study period
  • Friday April 14, 2023 to Saturday April 29, 2023
    Final examinations in Winter Term and multi-term classes
  • Sunday April 30, 2023
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Summer Term to full- or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure that an admission decision is made before the Term begins
  • Sunday April 30, 2023
    Winter Term ends
  • Sunday April 30, 2023
    Last date to apply in SOLUS to graduate in Spring 2023
  • Monday May 1, 2023
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W). Exception: OSAP students
  • Monday May 1, 2023
    Summer Term classes begin (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W)
  • Friday May 5, 2023
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W)
  • Friday May 5, 2023
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full. Exception: OSAP students
  • Friday May 5, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W)
  • Friday May 5, 2023
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (August Session)
  • Thursday May 11, 2023 to Monday May 15, 2023
    Winter Term Deferred Assessments Period
  • Friday May 12, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) without financial penalty
  • Monday May 22, 2023
    Victoria Day (classes will not be held)
  • Friday May 26, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/12W Session) without Faculty Office permission
  • Thursday June 1, 2023
    Last date to apply to the University for admission as a part-time student for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 1, 2023
    Last date for Queen’s students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree program for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 1, 2023
    Last date for Queen’s students to apply to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 1, 2023
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Fall Term from another post-secondary institution
  • Wednesday June 7, 2023
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the June, July and August examination sessions
  • Monday June 12, 2023
    Summer Term classes end (May-June/6W1 Session)
  • Thursday June 15, 2023 to Sunday June 18, 2023
    Summer Term examinations in May-June/6W1 Session classes(Tentative)
  • Thursday June 15, 2023
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Fall Term to full- or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure that an admission decision is made before the Term begins
  • Wednesday June 21, 2023
    National Indigenous Peoples Day
  • Friday June 23, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) without Faculty Office permission
  • Saturday July 1, 2023
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (July-August/6W2 Session). Exception: OSAP students
  • Saturday July 1, 2023
    Canada Day (classes will not be held)
  • Monday July 3, 2023
    Canada Day Holiday
  • Tuesday July 4, 2023
    Summer Term classes begin (July-August/6W2 Session)
  • Monday July 10, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August/6W2 Session) without financial penalty
  • Monday July 10, 2023
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (July-August/6W2 Session) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Academic). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full. Exception: OSAP students
  • Monday July 10, 2023
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (July-August/6W2 Session)
  • Saturday July 15, 2023
    First date to apply in SOLUS to graduate in Fall 2023
  • Friday July 21, 2023
    Summer Term classes end (May-July/12W Session)
  • Monday July 24, 2023
    Registration period for Fall and Winter classes commences(Tentative)
  • Tuesday July 25, 2023
    Summer Term final assessments in May-July/12W Session classes begins(Tentative)
  • Monday July 31, 2023
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Fall Term
  • Monday July 31, 2023
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August/6W2 Session) without academic penalty
  • Tuesday August 1, 2023
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for the Fall Term
  • Wednesday August 2, 2023
    Summer Term final assessments inn May-July/12W Session classes ends(Tentative)
  • Friday August 4, 2023
    Registration period for Fall and Winter classes ends (Tentative)
  • Monday August 7, 2023
    Civic Holiday (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday August 15, 2023
    Summer Term classes end (July-August/6W2 Session)
  • Thursday August 17, 2023 to Sunday August 20, 2023
    Summer Term examinations in July-August/6W2 Session classes(Tentative)
  • Tuesday August 22, 2023
    Time period to add and drop classes (open enrolment period) begins(Tentative)
  • Thursday August 31, 2023
    Summer Term ends
  • Friday September 1, 2023
    Fall Term begins
  • Friday September 1, 2023
    Tuition fees due in full for Fall Term classes. Exception: OSAP students
  • Monday September 4, 2023
    Labour Day
  • Tuesday September 5, 2023
    Fall Term classes begin