Important Dates

Academic Dates, Deadlines and Special Events

  • Monday February 3, 2020
    Registration for Summer Term classes begins
  • Tuesday February 4, 2020
    Graduate council agenda due to council secretary
  • Tuesday February 11, 2020 from 1:30pm to 3:00pm
    Graduate Council Meeting
  • Monday February 17, 2020
    Family Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday February 18, 2020 to Saturday February 22, 2020
    Mid-term Reading Week (all classes cancelled)
  • Friday February 28, 2020
    Last date to drop Winter Term and multi-term classes without academic penalty
  • Tuesday March 3, 2020
    Graduate Council agenda due to Council Secretary
  • Saturday March 7, 2020 to Sunday March 8, 2020
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the April examination session
  • Tuesday March 10, 2020 from 1:30pm to 3:00pm
    Graduate Council Meeting
  • Saturday March 21, 2020 from 9:00am to 2:00pm
    March Break Open House
  • Monday March 30, 2020
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (May-June Session)
  • Tuesday March 31, 2020
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Summer Term from another post-secondary institution
  • Wednesday April 1, 2020
    Last day for Queen's students to apply for a Dual Degree Program for Summer Term
  • Wednesday April 1, 2020
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Distance Studies for the Summer Term
  • Friday April 3, 2020
    Winter term classes end
  • Saturday April 4, 2020 to Thursday April 9, 2020
    Winter Term pre-exam study period
  • Tuesday April 7, 2020
    Graduate Council agenda due to Council Secretary
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 to Sunday April 26, 2020
    Final examinations in Winter Term and multi-term classes
  • Friday April 10, 2020
    Good Friday (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday April 14, 2020 from 1:30pm to 3:00pm
    Graduate Council Meeting
  • Wednesday April 15, 2020
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Summer Term to full-or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure than admission is made before the Term begins
  • Thursday April 30, 2020
    Last date to apply to graduate in SOLUS in Spring 2020
  • Friday May 1, 2020
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and MayJuly/12W sessions) (Exception: OSAP students)
  • Monday May 4, 2020
    Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions) begin
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020
    Graduate Council agenda due to Council Secretary
  • Friday May 8, 2020
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (August Session).
  • Friday May 8, 2020
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Friday May 8, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1) without financial penalty
  • Friday May 8, 2020
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 and May-July/12W sessions)
  • Tuesday May 12, 2020 from 1:30pm to 3:00pm
    Graduate Council Meeting
  • Friday May 15, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W sessions) without financial penalty
  • Monday May 18, 2020
    Victoria Day (classes will not be held)
  • Friday May 29, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1) without academic penalty
  • Monday June 1, 2020
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree Program for Fall Term
  • Monday June 1, 2020
    Last date to apply to the University for admission as a part-time student for Fall Term
  • Monday June 1, 2020
    Last date for Queen's students to apply to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science for Fall Term
  • Monday June 1, 2020
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-time admission for Fall Term from another post-secondary institution.
  • Sunday June 7, 2020
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the June, July and August examination sessions
  • Monday June 15, 2020
    Last date for receipt of required documentation from students seeking admission for Fall Term to full-or part-time study, including transfer students, to ensure that an admission decision is made before the Term begin
  • Monday June 15, 2020
    Summer Term classes (May-June/6W1 Session) end
  • Thursday June 18, 2020 to Saturday June 20, 2020
    Summer Term examinations in May-June/6W1 Session classes
  • Friday June 26, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) without academic penalty
  • Wednesday July 1, 2020
    Tuition fees due in full for Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) (Exception: OSAP students)
  • Wednesday July 1, 2020
    Canada Day (classes will not be held)
  • Thursday July 2, 2020
    Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) begin
  • Wednesday July 8, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) without financial penalty
  • Wednesday July 8, 2020
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session)
  • Wednesday July 8, 2020
    Students unable to register in Summer Term (July-August /6W2 Session) by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Monday July 13, 2020 to Saturday August 1, 2020
    Registration period for Fall and Winter classes (TENTATIVE)
  • Wednesday July 15, 2020
    First date to apply in SOLUS to graduate for Fall 2020
  • Friday July 24, 2020
    Summer Term classes (May-July/12W Session) end
  • Monday July 27, 2020 to Saturday August 1, 2020
    Summer Term examinations in May-July/12W Session classes
  • Wednesday July 29, 2020
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) without academic penalty
  • Friday July 31, 2020
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Fall Term
  • Saturday August 1, 2020
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Distance Studies for the Fall Term
  • Monday August 3, 2020
    Civic Holiday (Classes will not be held)
  • Monday August 10, 2020
    Summer Term classes (July-August /6W2 Session) end
  • Wednesday August 12, 2020 to Friday August 14, 2020
    Summer Term examinations in July-August /6W2 Session classes
  • Tuesday August 25, 2020
    Time period to add and drop classes (Open Enrolment period) begins
  • Tuesday September 1, 2020
    Tuition fees due in full for Fall term classes (Exception: OSAP students)
  • Saturday September 5, 2020
    Welcoming Ceremony for new students
  • Saturday September 5, 2020
    Residence move-in day
  • Monday September 7, 2020
    Labour Day
  • Thursday September 10, 2020
    Fall term classes begin
  • Wednesday September 23, 2020
    Students unable to register in Fall Term by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Wednesday September 23, 2020
    Last date to add Fall Term and multi-term classes
  • Wednesday September 23, 2020
    Last date to drop Fall Term and multi-term classes without financial penalty
  • Wednesday September 30, 2020
    Residence, UHIP and Student Activity Fees due in full
  • Friday October 2, 2020 to Monday October 5, 2020
    OUF - Ontario Universities' Fair
  • Monday October 12, 2020
    Thanksgiving Day (University closed. Classes will not be held.)
  • Thursday October 15, 2020
    Last date to apply in SOLUS to graduate for Fall 2020
  • Friday October 16, 2020
    University Day
  • Saturday October 17, 2020 from 9:00am to 4:00pm
    Fall Preview
  • Thursday October 29, 2020 to Saturday October 31, 2020
    Fall Term Break
  • Sunday November 1, 2020
    Refer to http://www.queensu.ca/artsci_online/apply/dates-and-deadlines for deadlines for admission to Undergraduate Online Studies for the Winter Term
  • Friday November 6, 2020
    Last date to drop Fall Term classes without academic penalty
  • Saturday November 7, 2020
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the December examination session
  • Saturday November 7, 2020 from 9:00am to 4:00pm
    Fall Preview
  • Wednesday November 11, 2020
    Remembrance Day observance (Classes cancelled 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.)
  • Sunday November 15, 2020
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Winter Term
  • Tuesday December 1, 2020
    First date to apply to graduate in SOLUS for Spring 2021
  • Tuesday December 1, 2020
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to Dual or Second Degree Programs for Winter Term
  • Friday December 4, 2020
    Fall term classes end
  • Saturday December 5, 2020 to Wednesday December 9, 2020
    Fall Term pre-examination study period
  • Sunday December 6, 2020
    Commemoration Day (examinations cancelled)
  • Wednesday December 9, 2020 to Thursday December 24, 2020
    Final examinations in Fall Term classes and mid-year tests in multi-term classes
  • Friday January 1, 2021
    New Year's Day (University closed. Classes will not be held)
  • Monday January 4, 2021
    Winter Term classes begin
  • Sunday January 10, 2021
    0 Tuition fees due in full for Winter Term classes. Exception: OSAP Students
  • Friday January 15, 2021
    Last date to apply to the International Programs Office for exchange programs for 2021-2022
  • Friday January 15, 2021
    Last date to add Winter Term classes
  • Friday January 15, 2021
    Last date to drop Winter Term classes without financial penalty
  • Friday January 15, 2021
    Students unable to register in Winter Term by this date must appeal in writing to the Office of the Associate Dean (Studies). If the appeal to register late is granted, students must pay tuition fees in full
  • Monday February 1, 2021
    Registration for Summer Term classes begins
  • Monday February 15, 2021
    Family Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday February 16, 2021 to Saturday February 20, 2021
    Mid-term Reading Week (all classes cancelled)
  • Friday February 26, 2021
    Last date to drop Winter Term and multi-term classes without academic penalty
  • Sunday March 7, 2021
    Last date to apply for accommodation for an official examination conflict for the April examination session
  • Saturday March 20, 2021 from 9:00am to 2:00pm
    March Break Open House
  • Wednesday March 31, 2021
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (May-June Session).