Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal


Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)


Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)

site header

Provost and Deans Group

I. Terms of Reference

The Provost and Deans Group, chaired by the provost, meets monthly to deliberate issues, strategies and policies that affect the university, with a primary focus on academic operations. The group is comprised of the university’s deans, university librarian and deputy provost.

II. Function and Authority of Committee

The Provost and Deans Group is a non-decision-making body. Items are brought to the group for discussion or information.                                                                

III. Consideration of Agenda Items

Agenda items are due four days prior to each meeting. Items are added to the agenda on a priority basis.

IV. Meetings

  • 90-minute meetings are scheduled on a monthly basis. Please contact the committee secretary to confirm upcoming meeting dates.
  • Members of the Provost and Deans Group should make every effort to attend group meetings. Delegates are not permitted.
  • Faculty members and administrative staff shall be invited as guests by the provost to attend meetings as necessary.

V. Committee Composition



B. Bacon

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)

B. Brouwer

Vice-Provost and Dean, School of Graduate Studies

B. Crow 

Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

K. Deluzio

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

W. Flanagan

Dean, Faculty of Law

R. Luce-Kapler

Dean, Faculty of Education

R. Reznick

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

D. Saunders

Dean, Smith School of Business

T. Shearer

Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion)

A. Tierney

Vice-Provost and Dean, Student Affairs

M. Whitehead

Vice-Provost (Digital Planning)  and University Librarian

Chair: Benoit-Antoine Bacon, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) 
Secretary: Lori Stewart, Director, Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)