Queen’s Strategic Enrolment Management Group

I. Mandate of the Queen’s Strategic Enrolment Management Group

The Strategic Enrolment Management Group (SEMG) assists the university in establishing, achieving, and maintaining optimum enrolment while ensuring a viable selection of high-quality programs for undergraduate and graduate students. In particular, the group does the following:

  • Review, make recommendations regarding, and endorse (for submission to Senate) institutional enrolment plans and targets and the strategies to ensure the targets are met.
  • Receive and review enrolment reports, including those required by the provincial government.
  • Receive and review reports on student surveys as they relate to the student curricular and co-curricular experience.
  • Review annual recruitment plans (undergraduate and graduate, domestic and international).
  • Help to ensure Queen's enrolment planning aligns with the university's commitments to advance equity, diversity, inclusion and Indigenization. 
  • Advise on undergraduate and graduate scholarship and financial aid planning.
  • Advise on residence and student housing planning.
  • Ensure alignment exists between the strategic enrolment management plan and the university’s academic priorities.
  • Review plans for, and advise on, the required student services to meet the needs of current and prospective students.
  • Make recommendations with respect to projects and initiatives to improve student engagement.

The group may form specific sub-groups as needed.

II. Membership

Membership Title
T. Almeida Executive Director, Budget & Resource Planning
W. Costen Dean, Smith School of Business
B. Crow Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science 
K. Deluzio  Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
S. den Otter Associate Vice-Principal (International) 
T. Shearer Interim Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) 
P. Jeffrey Director, University Communications
R. Luce-Kapler Dean, Faculty of Education
J. Philpott Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
J. Pierce Interim Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)
T. Al-Idrissi University Registrar
F. Quadir  Vice-Provost and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
L. Ratcliffe Professor, Biology
C. Coupland  Executive Director, Undergraduate Admissions and Recruitment
N. Mosey Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion)
A. Tierney Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs
M. Walters  Dean, Faculty of Law 

Chair: Teri Shearer, Interim Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)